Making Strides

24 Oct

 

Sunday Morning: Today is my actual birthday, October 23rd. But instead of doing something for myself, I decided to do the American Cancer Society “Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk”. This is not new for me, it just so happens to fall on my b-day this year. So this year, just like previous years, I am walking to help more women to see more birthdays of their own. I am dedicated to doing this walk (raising awareness and money towards research, etc.) because of my grandmother (who passed when I was a little girl), who had breast cancer, a friend Joye, “A Survivor” (who our team is named for) and all of the other women and families that this disease has affected. So this is the second year that I put together a team from the dental office where I work and our families/friends. Thank you guys for walking and thanks to everyone who made monetary donations on behalf of “Team Joye”.

  • About 230,480 new cases of invasive breast cancer in women
  • About 39,520 deaths from breast cancer (women)
  • Breast Cancer is the most common cancer among women in the U.S., other than skin cancer
  • It’s the second leading cause of death in women, after lung cancer
  • Chances of a woman having invasive breast cancer some time during her life is as little as 1 in 8
  • Chances of dying from breast cancer is about 1 in 35. This is probably the result of finding the cancer earlier and better treatment. Right now there are more than 2.5 million breast cancer survivors in the U.S.

 

 

 

Source of Statistics: American Cancer Society 2011

Leave a Reply

