Must Try On

5 Dec

Sunday: This outfit is inspired by Tommy Hilfiger F/W 2011. I told you how much I love his looks lately. I’ve always been of fan of his but the past couple of seasons, he has been spot on! He still has those classic American pieces but has taken them up a few notches by adding in some trends. Mr. Hilfiger hasn’t strayed too much from his classic preppy styles but has incorporated them in fresh new ways. These boots are one of those fantastic “steals” that I talked about in my last post. I purchased them a few years ago from my favorite DSW shoe store in Jersey. Michelle and I were out on one of our all day (and I do mean all day, like 8-9 hrs incl. lunch) shopping trips and came across these beauties! We found them on the clearance rack (80% off I must say!we almost had a fashion heart attack!), but they weren’t exactly in our size (but wait, it gets better!). They were a half size smaller than what we usually wear, but we gave them a try anyway (never give up until you try things on!). And as you can see, they fit (and comfortably!)! My theory is, different designers, different styles,different cuts,  sometimes sized differently so you never know if you can fit something. If it’s close to my size, whether it’s clothes or shoes, I’ll try it. It can’t hurt if I can’t fit it (well, maybe just a little if I really like it!) and if it fits, that’s even better! So when I shop, I look in all sizes (some sizes get moved around to other areas where they don’t belong too) and try things on and buy whatever fits, no matter what the size tag says. My clothes and shoe closet have many different sizes. I don’t focus on the size, but the fit. So when you shop, buy things that fit the size you are now and what fits, no matter what the tag says. The key is that you MUST try things on (sorry, I know most people don’t like that part about shopping but it’s very important and it saves you from alot of returns due to wrong fit and also from the pieces just hanging in your closet without being worn, tags still attached). People are not going to ask you what size is your “dress”, but compliment you on your overall look. You will  feel confident in what you’re wearing if it fits well and you don’t harp on the size (cut out the size tag if it’ll make you feel better!). Hope you had a good weekend! Thanks for reading!

Shawl Collar Top: Old Navy (old)

Denim Shirt: Random

Leather Skirt: Thrifted

Knee Socks: Random (very old)

Boots: M.Kors

Jewelry: Random; Thrifted

Prescription Glasses: D&G

Sunglasses: MNG (JCP)

2 Responses to “Must Try On”

  1. Melissia Mulroy December 14, 2011 at 03:18 #

    Mainly need to write and ask where you got your theme? I’m looking for one for my current blogging site and really appreciate yours. Thanks so much.

    • 1ststatestyle December 14, 2011 at 08:29 #

      Hi, my theme came from wordpress where there a several different themes you can choose from.

Leave a Reply

