New Soul Mac N Cheese

2 Jan

Here is the mac n cheese that I made last night. As I said before, the recipe came from Essence Magazine. It tastes good (not just my opinion, but everyone else agreed too 🙂 ). I’m usually not the cook in the house (too much like work for me!; don’t understand how people say they LOVE to cook; I guess some people say the same thing about shopping for clothes, where I LOVE that and it gives me the same satisfaction/relaxation that one gets when they cook, or garden/yard work for that matter). But when I do cook, I like to try different recipes because I get board easily and would not cook if I had to cook the same things over and over! So I tried out this mac n cheese. Nothing special, didn’t really taste too different from any other mac n cheese. I liked how you mix all the ingredients in with the uncooked pasta, rather than cooking the pasta first and then mixing everything else. Very easy to do and not alot of time (my two goals when I cook!). I did change the recipe a little by not adding the sun-dried tomatoes (not on purpose, but kinda on purpose; couldn’t find them in the store, but my kids wouldn’t like that anyway; they are so picky!). I also doubled the cheese because the recipe definitely needs more cheese!  In my opinion, I like my mac cheesy! I also used a 13 or 14 oz. box of pasta. The bonus to this recipe is that it is less fat, calories, etc. then a traditional mac recipe. Also, you get the benefits from using the whole wheat pasta noodles (which we only use whole wheat pasta when we cook anyway). Whole wheat pasta can make the dish taste a little different and the texture is different. But we are used to it so it doesn’t taste any different to us now. I don’t think my kids ever really noticed, so I wouldn’t tell them anyway. What they don’t know, won’t hurt ’em. That’s how you gotta be with kids and food, especially when they are as picky about food as my kids are. But to their credit, they have definitely gotten more adventurous with food as they have gotten older (nothing too exotic, but more than before!). I used to be the same way though, but I like more variety now as I get older. So enough chatter, here is the recipe if you’re interested!

 

Makes 10 servings.

Prep time: 6 minutes.

Cooking time: 75 minutes.

2 tablespoons reduced-fat, trans-fat-free, soft-tub margarine

1  11  1/2 oz. pkg whole wheat elbow macaroni

Salt and pepper taste

4oz. reduced-fat white cheddar cheese, shredded

5 cups fat-free milk

¾ cup water

¼ cup softened and chopped sun-dried tomatoes

Paprika

 

Preheat oven to 3500F. Melt margarine in a 2-quart casserole dish.  Add the dry pasta and stir to coat with margarine. Add the salt, if using, and pepper. Mix together half of both cheeses, the milk, ¼ cup water and tomatoes. Pour over the macaroni. Reserve the rest of the shredded cheese. Combine remaining ingredients with ½ cup water and mix well. Sprinkle the remaining cheese over the top of the macaroni and cheese dish. Dust top of dish with a hint of paprika. Bake for 1 to 1 ½ hours, until the liquid is fully absorbed.

Per serving: 237 calories, 32g carbohydrate, 15mg cholesterol, 6g fat, 15g protein, 269mg sodium

*Reduced-fat cheese gives a bold taste with fewer calories.

 

Leave a Reply

