Mystery Material

5 Mar

Sunday: The color of the green in this dress is what 1st attracted me to it. Then when I realized it had pockets, SOLD! It’s something about a dress/skirt with pockets that gives it that extra “oomph”, that takes the chicness up another notch. I’m a sucker for pockets and it makes it hard to resist a piece (skirt/dress), when pockets are involved. The green is actually more vibrant than the photos show it to be. Since it is vintage, circa 1970, I wanted to make the look more modern so I wore the motorcycle boots. I like how the green really pops against the black. The gold buckles on the boots also plays off of the gold belt buckle/buttons on the dress (I could of changed out the belt but I liked the look of the original belt with the dress rather than adding a different one). As for the material of the dress, I’m still trying to figure that out. As it is in most causes of vintage pieces, the tag was removed. It’s not the normal polyester that you would expect from the 70s. Don’t get it twisted, I do love a polyester vintage piece! It may not be the softest, most luxurious fabric, but I do like that you can toss it in the washer and it doesn’t even need to be ironed. Well, this fabric is the same way. It has not wrinkled on me at all today! It kinda feels like felt. But I don’t know and I don’t care, I like the piece either way! So, do you have a preference in the fabrics that you wear? Hope you had a great weekend. Be blessed and have a great week!

Leather Jacket: J.Lo (old)

Dress: Vintage

Boots: Tory Burch (old)

Sunglasses: Tory Burch

Jewelry: Random; Vintage; Thrifted; Shamballa; Loehmann’s

Watch: M.Kors

Nails: ? the label was off (UO)

 

2 Responses to “Mystery Material”

  1. Fashion By Alicia March 14, 2012 at 21:36 #

    Love the dress. It is a great shape! So flattering. Those boots are AMAZING!

  2. two birds March 15, 2012 at 23:51 #

    green really looks great on you! and i love how you’ve paired the dress with the leather jacket!

Leave a Reply

