The Royals

2 Apr

Sunday: My inspiration for this outfit came from some runway shows (Prada, Louis Vuitton, etc.) of past seasons and what some designers are still doing today. The midi skirt and sweater combo is reminiscent of the 50s. I am a big fan of the 1950s, ladylike looks. Some t.v. shows from that decade that inspire me also are Mad Men, Pan Am, I Love Lucy, and several more. I did get some stares this morning when I was in Wawa getting coffee, then someone else asked me if I was going to a sock-hop. I’m not offended either way. I liked this outfit anyway! I’m not afraid to be different and express myself thru fashion. Anyways,  I did a messy french roll style with the band for my hair to go along with the retro theme. And then there’s the socks and shoes combination that gives it a modern spin and a little quirkiness that I like. The swing jacket I just grabbed last minute from the closet as I dashed out the door. I actually like how the shape of the jacket compliments the length and width of the skirt. When I bought the sweater, I purchased it because I liked the color, but also because I thought the “fox” on it was cute. Little did I know, I have since discovered that it is a raccoon (or is it?). I actually just realized that as I uploaded the photos for this post. Javar was telling me it was a skunk. Either way I might not have bought it if I had realized it’s true identity while I was in the store. I just don’t like rodents. Well, technically I know a raccoon isn’t a rodent, but they all just give me that rodent feeling (yuck!). Since Javar and I are wearing the same color today, I added a shot of him to this post. He didn’t quite let me style him like  I wanted to. It was 7:45 a.m. on a Sunday morning when we took these photos and he was tired and complaining of being cold when I told him that he needed his sleeves rolled up. I would have also unbuttoned his shirt to reveal another shirt underneath or did a half tuck with his shirt to reveal a belt, or added some accessories such as his G-Shock watch and his Shamballa bracelet or a baseball cap. The styling options are endless. But anyway, maybe next time! How was your weekend? Have a good week ahead, God Bless!

Swing Jacket: H&M (old)

Sweater: Cooperative (UO)

Skirt: Talbots (Thrifted)

Shoes: MRKT (DSW)

Sunglasses: American Eagle

Jewelry: Random; Thrifted; Vince Camuto; R.Lauren

Clutch: Goodwill Outlet (the charge by the pound for clothing/accessories!)

Nails: no color indicated (L.A. Colors Color Craze Limited Edition Fairytales (7 diff. shades)-Ross)

Javar’s Outfit:

Gingham Button Down: American Living (JCP)

Slim Fit Twill Pants: Dockers (Marshalls)

Sneakers: R+ by RocaWear (Forman Mills)

2 Responses to “The Royals”

  1. mimi g. April 7, 2012 at 00:42 #

    So CUTE!!! I love the socks with the shoes!

    • 1ststatestyle April 8, 2012 at 08:23 #

      Thanks so much! I love everything you wear! Your sewing skills are perfection! You are such an inspiration. I’ve had my machine for 1 yr and purchased several patterns and have taken a couple of classes and have not made anything yet. But because of you, I will attempt something soon!

Leave a Reply

