Persistence

12 Aug

Sunday: This idea of dressy and sporty/casual together has become an ongoing look for me. The midi skirt is a more dressy piece with it’s cut, pleats, fabric and gold interwoven within the fabric. One might wear such a skirt on a more semiformal occasion.  But as for me, I prefer to balance out the dressiness with something more casual like this jacket. I’ve had this jacket for a couple years now and it had almost made it out of the closet on a few different occasions but never did. Well, when I decided to wear this skirt the jacket wasn’t the first piece that came to mind. But after some other options didn’t go over so well with what I had in mind, the jacket made the cut. Because the skirt is more straight in the hip area and flares down lower, I wanted something that would balance that out. So that’s how this jacket won out. Because of the puffed sleeves, the elasticized waist and overall fullness in the fit of the jacket, I think it compliments the skirt well. And of course a heel always ups the ante of any ensemble! Speaking of heels, I had stalked this shoes for a few months until they lowered the price to something I thought was more reasonable. I had actually purchased them before they went on sale but returned them the next day after realizing they were definitely overpriced (not really, but not what I wanted to pay for them), and I just didn’t love them that much to pay that price. So I took the risk of possibly losing them forever and decided to watch and wait. They took forever to mark them down! But after a few months of checking on them weekly and hoping they would be marked down and still have my size, they began to do markdowns! Still not low enough, I continued to watch them. Then finally one day, the sign read a significant markdown! Yay! And they still had my size! As I grabbed the box down to try them on again, the tag read that they were marked down even more then the sign said! I paid less than 1/2 of what the original price was! So as you see, they came home with me that day! I say it was meant to be! Sometimes it pays to have patience when shopping. Usually not the case for me, but it does happen sometimes! But if I really like/love a piece, it has to go home with me immediately! That’s just me! That’s part of the passion for fashion thing! Anyway, sorry for rambling so much but thanks for reading! Enjoy the upcoming week! God Bless!

Jacket: A.N.A (JCP-old)

Skirt: Mui Mui (Green Street Consignment)

Shoes: DVF (Marshall’s)

Jewelry: Random; Shamballa; Thrifted

Necklace: Worthington (JCP)

 

One Response to “Persistence”

  1. Kerissa August 20, 2012 at 22:20 #

    I’m such a sucker for floral prints and this skirt food it for me..I like how you narrated the post. Giving advice without saying here what you need to do if wearing a similar piece. I’m glad the jacket made it out of the closet 🙂

Leave a Reply

