Paint and Camo

27 Aug

Sunday: This is what I wore for dress down at church today. The jeans are another one of those painted/deconstructed pieces that I love so much! I like that they are “painter style” pants (that’s what they were called when I was growing up, painter pants; now commonly referred to as carpenter jeans; all the same none the less!) that actually have paint on them as if they were really worn by an actual painter. Very subtle beige paint detail not easily seen from afar but up close you have to do a double take and look them over cause it looks as if I accidentally got something on them (sorry for the extra long, run on sentence). The other thing I like about these jeans is the fit. You know me and slouchy fit get along really nicely. These are actually men’s jeans, skinny, slouchy fit so they give me that slightly dropped crotch that I love so much. Since the look was pretty casual, I added my python heels to keep it feminine. Finally getting a chance to wear these heels that were actually one of the pairs of shoes that I found on my thrifting trip in NYC with Designer Consigner, back in the Spring. All high-end designer pieces at this thrift store. The prices may be expensive to some, but if you’re a person who buys designer and knows what they retail for, you will understand the great value/steals/deals you will find here. And the jacket was more for function, the cold church, but I liked how it looked all together. Speaking of the jacket, I purchased it while outlet shopping after our beach day a few weeks back. I was hesitant to buy it even though I really wanted it. It was on the marked down rack for 50% off but I still didn’t want to pay that price. I gave in and decided to get it because I knew I would regret it if I couldn’t find another one cheaper, somewhere else. Lo and behold, when the girl rang it up, it actually was more than 80% the outlet price! Yay! It was definitely worth it! Now just think if I do go for it I would’ve missed out on a great deal! Even though I would have never known, but anyway, I was satisfied with my purchase. Thanks for stopping by. God Bless!

P.S.-Natural hair journey update: Ever since I took my braids out I’ve been cutting pieces of the relaxer that’s left on my ends, little by little. So tonight I finally got fed up with those stringy ends that have been holding me down. We’ll see what I can do with it now because I can barely get it into a ponytail now while it’s wet. Anyway, stay tuned for pics of it in my next post.

Tee: GAP (old)

Jeans: Men’s 511 Skinny (Forman Mills)

Belt: Men’s H&M (old)

Shoes: Gucci Python Sandals (Memorial Sloan-Kettering Thrift Store)

Bracelets/Watch: Random; Fossil; J.Crew; Myrtle Beach; Loehmann’s; M.Kors

Earrings: Ralph Lauren (TJ Maxx)

Necklace: Forever 21 (old)

Sunglasses: Liz Claiborne (TJ Maxx??)

One Response to “Paint and Camo”

  1. Kerissa September 3, 2012 at 12:24 #

    This look is one I’m trying to master to post on the blog. The cargo styled pants with a feminine touch. I’m glad you purchased the jacket too. It was an edgy touch to the look and gave it a spark. Love the shades as well. Isn’t dress down Sunday the best? We had one this past Sunday but wore church tees. Well I didn’t, lolol 🙂

Leave a Reply

