A Childhood Classic

30 Sep

ImageImageImageImage

Sunday: Another dress down day at church. An all praise n worship service with an awesome saxophonist, Min. Jose Carmona, who had an awesome testimony of healing. Anyways, decided to wear this ensemble for not only dress down but also because we were going straight to Javar’s game afterwards. Only needed to change into some comfy footwear and a jacket. I like the idea of a fun graphic tee to make an outfit more fun and not taking getting dressed too serious. It might be hard to tell, but my tee is adorned with the image of the one and only, Cat in the Hat. Now who doesn’t love him and all of Dr. Seuss’ characters? They were the 1st books that I ever read and that was read to and by my children. Classics, which I think almost everyone learned to read with them. I still love them and will pick one up and read it if I see one in a doctor’s office or somewhere. So this trend of the graphic tee has been around for a long time. My kids have been wearing them for years. Quirky, funny sayings and/or pictures on them. Now women are taking them up a notch by wearing them with more dressy pieces and heels. Doing it this way takes them from being a child’s piece to a level of more grown up. It’s all in how you style them. Wear them with jeans and heels, a pencil skirt, or a pair of slacks. Just add heels and some stand out accessories and go with it. The short sleeve “coat” is actually a dress. I found it while thrifting months ago and knew I wanted to style it as a coat/vest and not a dress. It would actually be o.k. as a dress too but it’s not my size and I think it’s more interesting worn this way. I always loved short-sleeve coats. I have one and am on the look out for another in nice print/pattern. So there you have it, today’s outfit. Hope you enjoyed your weekend. God Bless!

“Coat”: Thrifted

Tee: Wal-Mart

Jeans: Forever21 (old)

Belt: Tory Burch

Booties: Vince Camuto (Piperlime.com)

Jewelry: Random; Shamballa; Vince Camuto

Sunglasses: Club Monaco

Leave a Reply

