Vintage YSL

3 Jan

IMG_5176 IMG_5215 IMG_5185 IMG_5216

Sunday: I almost forgot about these pics. I guess bc I wasn’t feeling the way this look turned out.  I think I would of liked it better if I could of went bare-legged but I surrendered to the tights since it was rather cold. I was determined to finally wear this vintage YSL suit that I got from the very 1st time Michelle and I did the CCCS (“shopping for a cause”). I really like the structure of the jacket. A bit of military with a peplum in the back. I really could of had the skirt altered to fit better but sometimes I feel that when a vintage piece is altered it somehow takes away from the authenticity. Which is probably not correct but to me a piece is more special to me when it is worn exactly as the former owner once wore it. But that’s just me. I believe this suit is actually from the 1950s according to my research. For Yves Saint Laurent, their tags/labeling is one way of telling the age of the piece. Anywho, I wanted to take away the normal way one would wear a suit and instead of a button down blouse, I opted for this color blocked thin knit and these patent booties. And since the neckline of the knit was a detail of its own, instead of a statement necklace, I went for the statement earrings. The hair was an attempt of a textured braid out on straightened hair. Yeah, not so good, but like when things a imperfect, messy and effortless, so to speak.  Well, thanks for reading! God Bless!

Suit: Vintage YSL

Sweater: I Heart Ronson (JCP)

Booties: YSL (old)

Earrings: Boscov’s

Leave a Reply

