NEW YEAR’S EVE 2014

1 Jan

IMG_5737 IMG_5766 IMG_5732 IMG_5738

Wednesday (NYE): Even the temps were at or near freezing, I felt like dressing up a little for the NYE festivities. By festivities, I mean church service. Who says you can’t put on something sparkly to wear to your NYE church service? Surely not moi, as you can see. I had it in my mind that I wanted to wear a dress but I still put out a couple of different pant outfit looks just in case I changed my mind. That’s how I usually decide what I want to wear is by how I’m feeling when it’s time to get dressed. I could feel one way while I’m putting together an outfit but by the time it’s time to get dressed, I might feel another way. So it turned out that the dress won. I picked this dress up the early part of last year when JCP was featuring a collection put out by African designer Duro Olowu. I have other pieces from him that I wore on the blog before. Anyway, when I came across this dress something about it just drew me in. I think maybe it was that it has such a rich look to it to be so inexpensive. Also, it has a “royalty” look to it. Royalty meaning that it looks like something that you me see a member of some royal family wearing, lol. Don’t mind me, I have an active imagination sometimes. But the fabric does remind me something that African royalty might wear. Maybe that was Duro Olowu’s inspiration for this piece, I don’t know. There was also a below the knee length coat that was made from the exact same fabric as the dress, color and everything. I thought it was too much at the time and plus they didn’t have it marked down enough for me. Now I’m wishing I had purchased it. I could of worn it with something else or with this dress to do a matchy-matchy thing. As far as the styling, I wanted to down play all the sparkle, just a little bit, by wearing black opaque tights and black heels. And I did throw on a black cardi to keep my arms warm. What did you wear for your NYE festivities? Happy New Year and God Bless!

P.S: I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions but one thing on my change list is to stop posting so many pics on my single blog post and limit myself to only 4, lol. It’s just so hard to choose when there’s so many pictures that were taken.

Dress: Duro Olowu (JCP)-old

Shoes: Mix No.6 (DSW)

 

Leave a Reply

